Immigration Law Associates, PC

Department of Homeland Security Announces 11 New Airports Selected For Possible Preclearance Expansion

Posted on by

Last Friday, November 4th, the Secretary of Homeland Security announced 11 new foreign airports, located in nine countries, selected for possible Preclearance expansion. This announcement is part of the Second Open Session of Preclearance expansion, which began in May 2016. If Preclearance operations are expanded to these airports, travelers would undergo immigration, customs, and agriculture inspection by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (“CBP”) before boarding a flight to the United States rather than upon arrival.

Preclearance is designed to prevent high-risk travelers from boarding aircraft bound for the United States. It also generates the potential for significant economic benefits for the United States and their international partners by reducing wait times at domestic gateways, creating an overall increase in clearance capacity, facilitating quicker connections to U.S. domestic flights, and maximizing aircraft and gate utilization.

The 11 airports identified for possible Preclearance locations include:

  1. El Dorado International Airport (BOG) in Bogota, Colombia;
  2. Ministro Pistarini International Airport (EZE) in Buenos Aires, Argentina;
  3. Edinburgh Airport (EDI) in Edinburgh, United Kingdom;
  4. Keflavik International Airport (KEF) in Iceland;
  5. Mexico City International Airport (MEX) in Mexico City, Mexico;
  6. Milan-Malpensa Airport (MXP) in Milan, Italy;
  7. Kansai International Airport (KIX) in Osaka, Japan;
  8. Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport (GIG) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil;
  9. Leonardo da Vinci-Fiumicino Airport (FCO) in Rome, Italy;
  10. São Paulo-Guarulhos International Airport (GRU) in Sao Paulo, Brazil; and
  11. Princess Juliana International Airport (SXM) in St. Maarten.

CBP currently has law enforcement officers and agriculture specialists stationed at 15 air Preclearance locations in 6 countries: Aruba, the Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Ireland, and the United Arab Emirates.

The DHS announcement can be found here: https://www.dhs.gov/news/2016/11/04/dhs-announces-11-new-airports-selected-possible-preclearance-expansion-following



Filed under: Uncategorized